Yes, there are are useful configurations in place to better support your business depending on the types of customers you serve.
If you serve individuals
In this case, navigate to Settings > General and disable companies altogether. When you do this:
- The company column is hidden on the Clients page.
- When you create a client, the company field is hidden.
- When clients create an account via self-serve, the company field is hidden.
- You cannot create company-level messaging or files channels or assign invoices and forms to companies.
If you serve companies each with many associated clients
In this case, navigate to Settings > General and enable companies. When companies are enabled:
- The company column is shown on the Clients page.
- When you create a client the company field is shown. Here you can create a new company or select an existing company on the dropdown.
- When clients create accounts via self-serve, the company field is shown. They will always be assigned to a new company, but you can later merge multiple clients by assigning the same company on the Clients page.
- You can create company-level messaging and files channels, and assign invoices and forms to companies. When you do this, any client associated with the company will be able to access the company-level channel and see the company-assigned invoice or form.
There are two additional settings when companies are enabled.
- You can specify if the default is a company channel or individual client channel. This default affects Messaging and Files.
- You can allow client users to invite team members.