How do I configure my portal if my customers are individuals? What about if they are companies?

Marlon Misra
Marlon Misra
  • Updated

Yes, there are are useful configurations in place to better support your business depending on the types of customers you serve.

 

If you serve individuals

In this case, navigate to Settings > General and disable companies altogether. When you do this:

  1. The company column is hidden on the Clients page.
  2. When you create a client, the company field is hidden.
  3. When clients create an account via self-serve, the company field is hidden.
  4. You cannot create company-level messaging or files channels or assign invoices and forms to companies. 

If you serve companies each with many associated clients

In this case, navigate to Settings > General and enable companies. When companies are enabled:

  1. The company column is shown on the Clients page.
  2. When you create a client the company field is shown. Here you can create a new company or select an existing company on the dropdown.
  3. When clients create accounts via self-serve, the company field is shown. They will always be assigned to a new company, but you can later merge multiple clients by assigning the same company on the Clients page. 
  4. You can create company-level messaging and files channels, and assign invoices and forms to companies. When you do this, any client associated with the company will be able to access the company-level channel and see the company-assigned invoice or form.

There are two additional settings when companies are enabled.

  1. You can specify if the default is a company channel or individual client channel. This default affects Messaging and Files
  2. You can allow client users to invite team members
 

 

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.