On Settings > General, if companies are enabled you will see a toggle that lets you specify if the default channel (which applies to Messaging and Files) is a company channel or an individual client channel.
If you select company channel, when a client with a company is created one of two things will happen:
- If the company channel doesn't exist yet, the new company messaging channel is created. In the future, if other clients are assigned to the same company they will be able to see message histories and send new messages in the channel.
- If the company channel already exists, the client will be added to the existing company messaging channel. This means they can immediately see message histories and send new messages in the channel.
If you select individual client channel a new client messaging channel is always created.